The Golden Lands: Book Contents list

The Golden Lands: Book Contents list
First inner page of the Golden Lands book, showing seated Buddha in Pahto-thamya temple, Bagan

Here are the main sections of The Golden Lands as laid out in the book contents page:

  • A Chronology Of Selected Buddhist Monuments
  • The Theoretical Framework
    [of Buddhist Architecture and modern study of it]
  • Myanmar
  • Vietnam
  • Indonesia
  • Cambodia
  • Thailand
  • Laos
Preview of the timeline of the Buddhist sites covered in The Golden Lands

The chapter for each country is split into three distinct sections:
i. Architectural History
ii. Architectural Characteristics
iii. Selected Examples

Preview of book pages about Vat Mai
For more preview pages from the book, please visit the gallery on this site.

The sites featured as “Selected Examples” include all-new on-site photography, architectural diagrams, and commentary about the architecture’s history, methods, and meanings.

The following is a list of the sites featured for the six countries in The Golden Lands:

  • Myanmar
    • Manuha
    • Pitaka Taik
    • Nan Hpaya
    • Ananda
    • Shwezigon Stupa
    • Somingyi Monastery
  • Vietnam
    • Dau Pagoda
    • But Thap Temple
    • Chua Mot Cot
    • Thay Temple
  • Indonesia
    • Borobudur
    • Candi Mendut
    • Candi Kalasan
    • Candi Sewu
  • Cambodia
    • Preah Khan
    • Ta Prohm
    • Neak Pean
  • Thailand
    • Wat Phra Si Sanphet, Ayutthaya
    • Wat Mahathat, Sukothai
    • Wat Arun
    • Wat Suthat Complex
  • Laos
    • Vat Mai
    • Vat Xieng Thong
    • Tat Luang

The book also has a full glossary, bibliography, and index.

Preview of the first page of the Buddhist architecture Glossary from the book

See also the full list of Southeast Asian Buddhist sites and temples covered in The Golden Lands

The Golden Lands title page